The joys of TED

I know I haven’t written a post in a while. To be honest it’s been quite a nice reprieve, because writing about rape makes you think about rape, and people talk to you about what you’ve written, and suddenly my life featured rape really heavily, which I hadn’t intended at all.

But now I’m sitting in the library preparing for an exam tomorrow and it strikes me that now might be the perfect time to write a quick post…!

It will be quick. I just wanted to give you links to some TED talks. If you haven’t discovered TED yet, they put online twenty minute long talks by people talking about all manner of things – be it the latest genetic discovery, or how to live a life. These talks fall more into the second category. The first I want to recommend links in very nicely with my last, ashram-based post, Strength. Brene Brown talks about the power of vulnerability, about letting ourselves be open. The second looks at whether violence towards women is rooted in how we teach boys to be ‘Men’ when they’re young. I’d genuinely be really interested in seeing some debate on this, particularly from male readers – is he right? Do you think he applies brush strokes that are a bit too broad, or do you have similar experiences?

Either way, enjoy discovering TED 🙂

  1. #1 by Mike on September 3, 2013 - 1:14 am

    Hey Liza,

    Your writing is incredible. It’s so courageous of you to open up about a topic like this.

    I agree with the message in the Tony Porter talk you linked to. Some guys I know choose to view women as inferior because it’s convenient. Because there’s a stereotype in place that lets them say so. And they don’t like to become vulnerable because that means admitting they’re on the same level as women after all, or anybody else they like to think is weaker than them.

    Best of luck. I hope you reach many more people through your blog.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

